Cast – Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Auli’i Cravalho

Director – Ron Clements and John Musker

Plot – when a teenage girl ventures out into the ocean to save her village, she comes across a Demigod, Maui who helps her to fulfill her mission and help her people.

615sOgj+FmL.jpg

Review – I guess there is a first time for everything, and here is my first ever animated movie review for the site! I do like animated movies here and there, but if I want to sit down to watch a movie, I usually tend to move away from animation. However, after watching Moana I may have to start expanding my film watching and catch up with some animation…other than Sausage Party! This film’s budget was $150 million, which is just insane for an animated movie, but it had no problem making its budget back and I can see why. This movie’s pacing from start to finish was great and never felt like it focused on one certain event for too long. This is a musical too, so if your not a fan of that then I wouldn’t recommend you watch this. I personally love any musicals so I was on board, just like the chicken, with this film. The songs were so damn catchy too! Some musicals can overdo the songs and can take away from the movie, but I wish they did a few more songs in this film because they were so good. Other than the music, the film was also surprisingly cute and funny. My favorite character in this film did not have much screen time, the piggy! In the few scenes he was in though, Oinky had a lot of comic relief to the main character. The chicken in this movie also stole the show in a couple scenes with his pure stupidity but having a purpose at the very end. One thing many movies that deal with Tribes do not pay attention to is the character’s tattoos. The tribal ink portrayed on all the men in the movie were spot on with their heritage and that is really cool to see the directors took time to make sure that they got small details right to make the film feel more genuine. The story was so heartfelt and the Rock killed it as Maui. I am a huge fan of the former WWE Champion and I can not recall a time I have seen an animated movie with him that fits the role so well. An animated movie that can make you almost cry, makes you laugh out loud, and makes you tap your feet to the songs is always a good time and I am happy that I was recommended to watch this movie because I was weary with this person’s movie choices in the past but this movie did not disappoint. I will give Moana a…

de157556-3f69-421e-a9e7-ec6ca3f9205b-14088-00000716527b9612

About jpcrouse

Freshman at Iowa State University. I am majoring in Journalism and Communications. Movies are my passion. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment